Food: Weekend Brunches

Standard

Image

I consistently feel like my brunches and  breakfasts have improved since I became a Clean & Lean devotee. Sure the lifestyle change has widened my repertoire for every meal, but brunch has gained the most. Pre Clean & Lean I might have had toast, cereal or nothing at all for breakfast but now I find myself feasting on smoked salmon, poached eggs and spinach, or feta and cherry tomato omelettes. Even a weekday rushed breakfast comprises of avocado on oatcakes and feels a lot more exciting than some cardboard-y white toast with jam.

Weekend brunches are my absolute favourite though. Most weekends play out something like this: on one day, I wake up before Anthony and set the coffee machine off. Whilst that gurgles away I whip up something healthy that feels incredibly indulgent for both of us. This time it was the Clean & Lean pancakes above. Neither me or Anthony are massive pancake fans in the real world, but we’re both a fan of these cottage cheese filled wonders. I have adapted them to make them savoury or sweet (putting cinnamon in the sweet and herbs and a pinch of salt into the batter of the savoury ones). On this day we have them sweet, topped with a teeny drizzle of warm honey and a handful of toasted almonds. Served with some steaming coffee and a mug of hot water with lemon they were a perfect start to my weekend.

Image

Image

On the other day of the weekend, I usually let Anthony sleep and have breakfast by myself whilst watching something on Netflix alone. I don’t get much time by myself in the house so I enjoy having the run of downstairs whilst Anthony snoozes away. Sometimes I take him a cup of tea and something to munch on in bed, sometimes I just leave him to his own devices.

This weekend I enjoyed a fried egg on rye toast with a generous sprinkling of parsley.

Image

Of course, it was accompanied by my standard coffee & hot water with lemon. I can’t start my day without both!

Image

I love a runny yolk!

Image

I hope your weekend has been full of delicious food and hot coffee!

Let me know what you think!

