Sweets for My Sweet

Standard

I can’t believe it’s almost Valentine’s Day already! Every year it just seems to creep up on me without me or Anthony realising. Since Valentine’s falls just over a week after my birthday we hardly ever do anything to celebrate, except for the occasional card. This year, I vowed, would be different. But despite creating a pinterest board called Sweets for My Sweet sometime in early January, I haven’t made much headway.

I originally started the board with the intention of pinning any adorable/delicious Valentine’s themed sweet treats I happened upon (hence the name) but I soon started adding easy Valentine’s Day crafts and date night ideas. At the moment I’m all about doing things on a budget so I love all these stay at home date night plans. I like to feel like we’re doing something special without breaking the bank.

This year I wanted to be the kind of person who hangs heart garlands in her windows and presents her loved one with a handmade card whilst sitting back watching carefully researched romantic (but not too romantic) films and eating homemade pink heart-shaped treats. There’s still time for me to plan a kind of special dinner, bake something in the seasonal colour and shape and knock up a card, but it’s not going to be quite the undertaking I had in mind. Oh well, there’s always next year, and I already have my pinterest board started. In a way, I’m remarkably organised.

Check out my whole board if you can, but if you don’t have time here’s my quick guide to a fuss free Valentine’s day with links to some of my favourite pins:

1)Wake your Valentine up with a mug of their favourite caffeinated beverage and a handmade card, I love the birthday candles on this one.

2) In the evening get creative in the kitchen and knock up a heart-shaped pizza. My mum got Anthony a pizza stone for Christmas and we have yet to use it properly, maybe Friday will be the perfect excuse to take it for a spin. Toppings wise I am fond of blue cheese, grape and pear. I love sweet and savoury things together. Yum.

3) Whilst the pizza is in the oven, make yourselves a Valentine’s Day cocktail. This one looks refreshing and elegant.

4) Cuddle up on the settee, drink your drinks, eat your delicious pizza (perhaps followed by a sweet treat or two, or three) and stick on a film.

Sometimes the most simple nights are the best. There’s nothing I love more than eating some good food and enjoying a drink with Anthony.

Do you have plans to stay in as well, or are you venturing out for a night on the town? However you’re celebrating I hope you have a good time!

Let me know what you think!

