Life: Valentine’s Day 2014

Standard

Image

Is it too late for me to sneak in with a recap of our Valentine’s Day?

We didn’t do anything special, we slept in and when we did wake up it was grey and drizzly outside. I opened the curtains so we could see out from the bed and we switched the electric blanket on. You feel extra toasty when you can see how miserable it is outside. Then we exchanged cards (Anthony also gave me a bar of Dairy Milk) and then I made us breakfast in bed. A bacon sandwich for him and avocado, eggs and a slice of bacon for me…and coffee for both of us (of course). As a special Valentine’s treat I didn’t immediately wake up and start cleaning, nagging about all the stuff around the house that needs doing. I am a true romantic.

Image

Image

We ate and watched TV and felt lazy for as long as we could stand. Then I put on a pretty dress and we ventured to Aldi for ingredients!

Later on I made a vegetable curry for dinner (not pictured because nutritious as it is, vegetable curry is not the most photogenic meal out there) and for dessert the most delicious, gooey chocolate and olive oil cake from a Nigella recipe (here). I tweaked it a bit and used almond extract rather than vanilla to work with the ground almonds used instead of flour. It was amazing. I think it would have been better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but then most things are better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, aren’t they?

I also made this chocolate bark as a festive treat. Not bad for a first attempt. This is such an easy and cheap way to make a sweet treat and is easy to adapt for any holiday. I already have millions of ideas for my Easter bark.

Image

Finally, there was wine. Toro Loco from Aldi is my favourite budget red wine. It’s very easy drinking and at only £3.69 a bottle it fits in nicely with my attempts at budgeting.

So, there you have it, our laid back, budget friendly Valentine’s Day. How did you celebrate?

Let me know what you think!

