Journal Day #3

Standard

Image

 

I’m joining Danielle of Sometimes Sweet for her Journal Day link up. I’m a bit late in posting this week because I’ve been busy starting a new job (I’ll bore you more about that in a separate post, don’t you worry about that) but I thought it was an interesting prompt and I didn’t want to miss it.

If you had unlimited resources, what political or social issue, or area of scientific or medical exploration would you fund? Do you have a cause that is near and dear to your heart that you’d put your time, energy, and money into if you had the means? Tell us about it, along with a bit of background explaining where you’re coming from.

There are so many incredibly worthy causes and issues I’d love to lend my time and money to if I had the necessary resources. In preparing for this post, I realised that many of the causes close to my heart were there for selfish (ish) reasons. Issues I feel pulled towards helping to resolve seem to be the very things I’m most scared of. For instance I am terrified of Alzheimer’s and so I feel like if I had the opportunity I would direct my focus towards research into a cure for that. I have a dread of losing a child… not that I have a child…but in the future…it just seems like the worst thing, absolutely unthinkable. So research into sudden infant death and childhood diseases seems like another no brainer, plus, who doesn’t want to save the lives of loads of adorable innocent children? On a political note, I sure as hell don’t want to have my freedoms taken away so some campaigning into human rights and freedom of speech would also be a contender.

But, the single most important and compelling issue to me is that of poverty. I feel that the gap between the wealthy and the poor has become even more prevalent in recent years. It’s always been a problem, of course, but it seems to be becoming a much further reaching problem than it was say ten years ago (for reasons we’re all aware of and I won’t bore you with). There are many forms of poverty both in developing countries and in our own and the eradication or reduction of this huge issue would have a massive impact on other world problems.

When you tackle poverty you give people the chance to take care of themselves, to improve the way they eat, sleep and look after their bodies so that you greatly reduce disease, poor body condition and bad health in general. This has a knock on effect – a greater number of healthy people means more productive people making the world a better, happier place. More people in good health also means less people using medical resources, requiring fewer medical experts to care for them.

With less poverty more people would have the chance to obtain a good education which would lessen the chance of those people becoming impoverished. Educated people are less ignorant, they have the tools to (potentially) live productively and help others around them.

I know that this is pie in the sky dreaming, I also have no idea how I’d go about tackling the issue but it is something I believe strongly in. Whether it’s a starving child in Ethiopia drinking filthy water from half a plastic bottle or a homeless man in a grubby sleeping bag slumped in a shop doorway in the City Centre, I have always felt for these people who have less. Not just less than the very wealthy, but less than they need to comfortably survive each day. I have always hated that less money means less chance to ever make money, to have any opportunities to better yourself. The lower down the wealth scale you are the more difficult it is to change your life for the better. How is that fair?

 

Let me know what you think!

